top of page

My First Gen Story 2023

Submitted by Delaney Whynot


Sydney J Harris once stated, "The whole purpose of education is to turn mirrors into windows." This is a quote that has always resonated with me as a first-generation college student. Education has given me the opportunity to see the world from a different perspective. It has allowed me to see beyond what I previously thought was impossible and has given me the courage to pursue my dreams. Higher education was not usually emphasized in my home by my parents and grandparents. Neither of my parents attended college, and they entered the United States Air Force directly after high school. The process of searching, applying, and financing colleges was a foreign topic for my parents. Despite the limited guidance, I took it upon myself to pursue higher education and develop a career path that leveraged my passion for learning. Exploring a path that my parents had never ventured down was daunting and lonely at times. Having to navigate higher education on my own tested my determination and fortitude. Despite these challenges, I was determined to succeed and worked hard to make my dreams a reality. I was fortunate enough to find a community of first-generation students at my undergraduate university, and I was able to recognize shared experiences. In the end, I was successful and claimed the title of being the first college graduate in my family.

This experience resulted in me wanting to achieve more, regardless of the obstacles placed in front of me. Upon attending my first graduate class here at The Chicago School I expected to see more first-generation students. However, I was met with a diverse population of traditional and non-traditional students with whom I was able to share my own experiences. I realized that being a first-generation college student comes with its own set of advantages such as determination, problem solving, and work ethic. I was able to foster the exploration of these advantages within my diversity class where we each presented our identities, specifically the ones that are most important to us. I recognized that one of my most important identities is being a first-generation student, since it shapes the way I experience and navigate academia, as well as the world generally. I am thankful to have found a supportive and inclusive community here at The Chicago School.


bottom of page