top of page
Search
  • titleix

A New Momma on a New Journey

Post by Adielle Ridley, Student in the MA Marriage and Family Therapy Program at the TCSPP Los Angeles Campus

 

As a new first time mother to a beautiful baby girl, I am witnessing the highs and the lows I have heard many mothers speak of time and time again. This journey, even only being about 6 months in, has given me the urge to work with parents, and those who are pregnant as well.

Throughout my pregnancy, I learned a lot about the changes my body would go through not only physically but also mentally. A few weeks after delivery, I gained a better understanding of the mental and emotional lows one may go through. When these emotions began to arise, interestingly enough my first thought was “What do I need and what can I do to help those who deal with this as well?” I recall one of my now professors during my interview for admission to TCSPP-LA mentioning how essential therapy would be at this time. I have recently reached out to a therapist who specializes in working with new mothers. As a new mother, while in therapy, and also studying to be a couples and family therapist, the past few months have definitely been challenging and insightful.


I am grateful I had a team of supportive people on my side including my family, midwife,

and doula. I initially chose to have a home birth which is something I always wanted to do when the time came due to learning about black mothers’ experiences giving birth in hospital settings. However, I had a few detours in the process and ended up delivering in the hospital 2 days after going into labor. With my fiancé, midwife and doula by my side


the entire time, I was still able to have the best experience and support needed before, during, and after. Although I ended up having a positive experience, I know some do not have that same option. With what I have learned about the mental and emotional support given by my midwife and doula, as well as the birth education they each provided along the way, I do plan on specializing in working with and supporting pregnant women and children once obtaining my Marriage and Family Therapy license.


I would love to pass on any healing information I can offer to others going through this or who have gone through similar situations. Although I did not go into this journey completely blind, I do feel as though the postpartum conversation needs to be discussed more and transition from being such a reserved subject.


As I am transitioning from the title of solely being a student, to also learning my new role as a mother, I am excited to be a new contribution to this movement.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page