top of page
Search
  • titleix

It Takes A Village

Post by Alane Anthony, Student in the PsyD School Psychology Program at the TCSPP Chicago Campus

 

It takes a village, but what happens when you have no village and no one to rely on? This is my story.

I have always wondered if women could have it all - a husband, children, and a career. With me being ambitious, my answer to this pondering thought was that women can have it all, which is why when I found out that I was pregnant after a few months of being accepted to The Chicago School of Professional Psychology (TCSPP) School Psychology doctoral program in 2018, I did not withdraw my acceptance. I knew I could be a student, wife, mother, and have a career, but after all my excitement, it hit me that it takes a village to raise children, but I had no village. I only had my husband, and expecting our first child without any familial support in Chicago was very challenging as I tried to complete my doctoral requirements.


If it were not for the School Psychology and TCSPP Title IX departments, who became my village, I do not know what I would have done to stay enrolled in the program and be successful. My professors and peers were very understanding of my needs and gave me the support I needed to accomplish my educational goals during and after my pregnancy, especially with me becoming a mother for the first time. The Title IX department helped me significantly, giving me the support, assistance, and accommodations I needed to thrive during my pregnancy and after returning to school.


In 2020, I surprisingly found out that I was expecting my second child. Again I was excited, but I was worried how I would be able to raise two children and finish school with no familial support. Nevertheless, there was my village. The School Psychology department was there to give me support, words of wisdom, guidance, advice, and a shoulder to cry on as I embarked on this journey of becoming a mother of two while trying to complete my doctoral requirements, process the civil unrest in the world, and navigating the coronavirus pandemic. The Title IX department also reassured me that I would be able to receive assistance, support, and accommodations while I am pregnant and after returning from having my second child to have a successful transition back to school and allow me to continue to thrive as a student, wife, and mother.


It is not easy balancing the roles of a student, wife, and mother, but I love my family so much and I am grateful to be sharing this journey with them. I am grateful to the School Psychology and Title IX departments for all their help and support as I continue to work on my doctoral requirements.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page